Online Resources

The New Mexico State Library has provided all libraries in the state with access for their patrons to numerous online databases, many with full text articles. The URL and password for Queen of Heaven School are listed below along with the descriptions of a few of the databases that might be of use to our students.

InfoTrac http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/nm_s_queen (password: qohknights)

Student Resources

  • InfoTrac Kids Edition provides K-5 students access to age-appropriate, full text, and curriculum-related magazines, reference books, and newspaper articles. The database includes approximately 75 full-text magazines, hundreds of full text age-appropriate newspaper articles, over 3,000 indexed, searchable images, and full-color country and state maps.
  • InfoTrac Kids Infobits provides K-5 full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
  • InfoTrac Junior Edition is designed especially for junior high and middle schools. It provides indexing and abstracts of 120 journals with 105, or 88% full text titles, full text newspaper articles, 300+ full color Rand McNally maps, and full text for a collection of reference books.
  • InfoTrac Student Edition is a one-stop, multi-source general reference solution designed especially for secondary school students. Provides indexing and abstracts of 400 journals with full text of 340 titles (85%), more than 40,000 full text newspaper articles, 300+ full color Rand McNally maps, and full text for a collection of reference books.

Local and National Government pages:
New Mexico Blue Book Online www.sos.state.nm.us/sos-bluebook.html
New Mexico Newspapers http://www.shgresources.com/nm/newspapers/
Learn about New Mexico - Kids' Corner http://www.sos.state.nm.us/KidsCorner/index.html

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government Information for Kids http://bensguide.gpo.gov/
NASA Space Place http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/en/kids/
USDA Youth Resources
White House Kids http://www.whitehouse.gov/kids/
FBI Kids' Page http://www.fbi.gov/kids/k5th/kidsk5th.htm
CIA Kids' Page https://www.cia.gov/kids-page/index.html
Fact Finder Kids' Corner (US Bureau of the Census) http://factfinder.census.gov/home/en/kids/kids.html
Library of Congress Kids and Families http://www.loc.gov/families/
U.S. Department of State for Youth http://future.state.gov/
U.S. Treasury for Kids http://www.ustreas.gov/kids/
HHS for Kids (Health and Human Services) http://www.hhs.gov/kids/index.html
Kids Saving Energy http://www.eere.energy.gov/kids/
Energy Star Kids http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?c=kids.kids_index


Search engines especially for kids:
Ask for Kids http://www.askforkids.com/
Yahoo! Kids http://kids.yahoo.com/
KidsClick! - Web Search for Kids by Librarians http://www.kidsclick.org/
Awesome Library [organizes the Web with 33,000 carefully reviewed resources]
ALA Great Web Sites for Kids http://www.ala.org/greatsites
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/ [Online Almanac, Dictionary, Encyclopedia, and Homework Help]
FirstGov for Kids http://kids.gov/ [The Official Kid’s Portal for the U.S. Government]
ThinkQuest http://thinkquest.org/library/ [The ThinkQuest Library provides innovative learning resources for students of all ages on a wide range of educational topics. Features over 6,500 websites.]

Dictionaries and encyclopedias:
http://dictionary.com [Dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia, multi-lingual dictionaries]
http://wordcentral.com [Merriam-Webster – dictionary, thesaurus, rhyming dictionary]
http://www.thefreedictionary.com/ [English, Medical, Legal, Financial, and Computer Dictionaries, Thesaurus, Acronyms, Idioms, Encyclopedia, a Literature Reference Library, and a Search Engine all in one.]
http://www.encyclopedia.com/
http://encarta.msn.com/
http://www.britannica.com/
http://reference.com/

Search Site